Group One Records > Blue Diamond Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes

1982 Blue Diamond Stakes winner, 2yo colt RANCHER
Trainer: Charlie Waymouth
Jockey: Norman Waymouth

Blue Diamond Stakes:


  • The first edition of the Blue Diamond Stakes was staged on Saturday, February 20, 1971. The race attracted 16 starters and was won by the 5/4 favourite Tolerance, trained by Angus Armanasco and ridden by Roy Higgins
  • With stake-money of $13,500 and conducted at Set Weights (Colts & Geldings: 8.7. and Fillies: 8.2.), the race was worth roughly half of the VRC Sires Produce Stakes ($25k).
  • The race has always been conducted over 1200m at Caulfield, except for the 1996 edition (won by Paint) which was at Flemington.
  • When the Australian Group Race Classification system was established in 1979, the Blue Diamond was awarded Group One status. The VATC 2YO flagship race run in February, (and regarded as the “fore-runner” to the Blue Diamond), was the Merson Cooper Stakes, first conducted in 1946. Horses such as Vain, Storm Queen, Dual Choice, Pago Pago, Star Affair and Kingster appear on the Merson Cooper honour roll. The VATC elected to cease staging the Merson Cooper Stakes once the Blue Diamond had been established, however resurrected the race from extinction, re-establishing it as a Group 3 (now Listed) 1000m 2YO event, conducted in Spring.
  • Total stake-money for the Blue Diamond rose rapidly, the race worth $500,000 in 1991, twenty years after it’s inception. The first million-dollar Blue Diamond was conducted in 1997, and now in 2020, the race is worth $1.5 million.
  • 1976 – longest priced winner, Out of Danger (40/1). In 1984, Street Café also scored at 40/1
  • 1979 – aboard the undefeated colt Star Shower, jockey Roy Higgins captures his fourth Blue Diamond after scoring on Tolerance (1971), Lord Dudley (1975) and Blazing Saddles (1977).
  • 1982 – shortest priced winner, Rancher (2/5f). He is matched in 2011 when Sepoy scores at $1.40f.
  • 1995 – Principality becomes the first Maiden winner of the Diamond. Pride of Dubai (2014) is the only other Diamond winner to score as a Maiden
  • 2003 – first past the post (Roedean, trained by Mick Price and ridden by Danny Nikolic) is subsequently disqualified after returning a positive swab. Runner-up (Kusi) is awarded the race, almost four months after the race.
  • 2007 – trainer David Hayes becomes the most successful trainer in Blue Diamond history when Sleek Chassis provides him with a fourth Diamond. Hayes has won the race again in 2008 and 2018 for a total of six Diamonds.
  • 2008 – jockey Dwayne Dunn scores his fourth successive Diamond victory on Reaan, thus equalling the record set by Roy Higgins
  • 2011 – Sepoy becomes the fourth Diamond winner to complete the Preview-Prelude-Diamond treble, joining Rancher (1982), Midnight Fever (1987, filly) and Bel Esprit (2002).
  • 2013 – Lauren Stojakovic becomes the first female rider (and remains the only one of her gender) to win the Blue Diamond aboard Miracles of Life
  • 6 Wins: D.A. (David) Hayes (includes one win in partnership with Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig)
  • 3 Wins: A. (Angus) Armanasco, D.L. (Lee) Freedman, C.S. (Colin) Hayes, P. (Peter) Snowden (includes one win in partnership with Paul Snowden).
  • 4 Wins: Dwayne Dunn, Roy Higgins
  • 3 Wins: Greg Hall

Blue Diamond Stakes:


YearWinnerTrainerJockeyNo.Br.SPA/SLead-Up Form
1971TOLERANCEA.ARMANASCOR.HIGGINS9115-4f2C1st VRC 6f 2YO Hcp-1st Sand 6f 2CG Hcp
1972JOHN'S HOPET.J.SMITHK.LANGBY81372C1st Cant 6f 2YO Hcp-1st VRC Criterion Qlty
1973NEW GLEAME.BROADHURSTT.FINGER176-42CFirst run back from a spell (84 days)
1974FORINAA.ARMANASCOS.AITKEN8713-42F1st VRC Talindert Stk
1975LORD DUDLEYJ.B.CUMMINGSR.HIGGINS457-22C7th Caul 1000m 2YO Hcp-2nd VRC Criterion Hcp
1976OUT OF DANGERC.S.HAYESA.MATTHEWS109402F1st SA Oaklands Plte-2nd V Pk 1000m 2F Hcp-1st SA Breeders Stk
1977BLAZING SADDLEST.J.SMITHR.HIGGINS1211-4f2C1st Caul 1000m Hcp-16th VRC Lightning Stk
1978MANIKATON.D.HOYSTEDG.WILLETTS712122G1st Cran 1000m 2YO Hcp-2nd VRC 1000m 2YO Hcp-1st VRC 1000m 2YO SC Hcp
1979STAR SHOWERA.LOPESR.HIGGINS1311-8f2C1st VRC Criterion Hcp
1980AARER.E.HOYSTEDL.DITTMAN1577-2f2F2nd Sand 1000m 2F Hcp-1st Caul 1000m 2F Hcp-1st VRC Talindert Stk
1981BLACK SHOESA.MCKENNAG.ROBSON96142F2nd Rhil 900m 2F Hcp-2nd Rhil 1200m 2F Hcp
1982RANCHERC.WAYMOUTHN.WAYMOUTH1102-5f2C1st Caul 1000m 2CG Hcp-1st BD Preview-1st BD Prelude
1983LOVE A SHOWR.E.HOYSTEDG.WILLETTS837-22F1st Caul 1000m 2F Hcp-1st BD Prelude
1984STREET CAF?T.GREENB.CLEMENTS317402C1st Cant 1000m 2CG Hcp-1st Rand 1000m 2CG Hcp-9th BD Prelude
1985LET'S GET PHYSICALR.SMERDONG.MURPHY5137-4f2C1st Wbee 1000m 2YO Hcp-1st MV 1000m 2CG Hcp-1st BD Prelude
1986BOUNDING AWAYT.J.SMITHL.DITTMAN1553f2F1st Rand 1000m 2F Hcp-1st BD Preview
1987MIDNIGHT FEVERC.S.HAYESJ.COURTNEY101042F1st BD Preview-1st BD Prelude
1988ZEDITAVEA.ARMANASCOG.HALL145-22C1st Caul 1000m 2YO Hcp-1st Caul 1000m 2CG Qlty-1st BD Preview
1989COURTZAR.MCDONALDR.DYE1189-4f2F2nd Caul 1000m 2F Qlty-2nd BD Preview-1st BD Prelude
1990MAHAASINC.S.HAYESW.HARRIS118252F1st G Cst 900m 2YO Hcp-2nd G Cst Magic Mill 2YO-2nd BD Prelude
1991CANONISED.HAYESP.HUTCHINSON12122C11th SA Queen Adelaide-1st SA Adelaide Million 2YO
1992RIVA DIVAJ.B.CUMMINGSG.CHILDS819-4ef2F1st Sand 1200m 2F 1MW-1st VRC Talindert Stk-1st VRC Waltzing Lily
1993LADY JAKEOJ.SADLERG.HALL1245-2f2F2nd BD Preview-1st BD Prelude
1994HURRICANE SKYG.A.RYANS.KING4132C1st Caul 1000 2YO Hcp-3rd VRC Mollison Stk-1st VRC Criterion Qlty
1996PAINTG.A.RYAND.NIKOLIC8313-22G1st Kyne 1100m 2YO Mdn-5th SA Breeders Stk-1st MV 1000m 2CG 1MW
1997KNOWLEDGED.L.FREEDMAND.BRERETON515202C1st BD Preview-4th BD Prelude
1998DANELAGHD.L.FREEDMANG.HALL1210122F1st VRC Waltzing Lily
2000ROAD TO SUCCESSJ.SALANITRIJ.CASSIDY42202G2nd Morn 1000m 2YO Mdn-1st MRC Chairmans Stk
2001TRUE JEWELSM.MORONEYK.MCEVOY82$8.502F1st Caul 1000m 2YO SWP-2nd AJC Inglis 2YO Classic
2002BEL ESPRITJ.SYMONSW.TRELOAR13$2f2C1st BD Preview-1st BD Prelude
2003*KUSIJ.HAWKESC.BROWN47$82G1st Rhil 1100m 2CG Hcp
2005UNDOUBTEDLYM.KAVANAGHD.DUNN64$262C1st SA Queen Adelaide Stk-5th BD Prelude
2006NADEEMD.HAYESD.DUNN112$172C6th BD Prelude
2007SLEEK CHASSISD.HAYESD.DUNN109$82F2nd MV 1000m 2YO SWP-1st Caul 1000m 2YO SWP-1st VRC Talindert Stk
2008REAAND.HAYESD.DUNN29$142C1st BD Preview
2009REWARD FOR EFFORTP.MOODYL.NOLEN35$162C1st BD Preview-2nd BD Prelude
2010STAR WITNESSD.O'BRIENN.HALL214$102C1st VRC Talindert Stk
2011SEPOYP.SNOWDENK.MCEVOY15$1.40f2C1st BD Preview-1st BD Prelude
2012SAMAREADYM.PRICEC.NEWITT107$2.20f2F1st VRC 1000m 2YO SWP-1st BD Prelude
2013MIRACLES OF LIFED.CLARKENMS L.STOJAKOVIC101$3.20f2F1st Morp 1000m 2YO SWP-1st Morp 1050m 2YO RB75-1st BD Preview
2015PRIDE OF DUBAIP. & P.SNOWDEND.BROWNE74$62C3rd Rhil 1100m 2YO SWP-2nd BD Prelude
2016EXTREME CHOICEM.PRICEC.NEWITT111$2.70f2C1st Rand Inglis 2YO-1st MRC Chairmans Stk
2017CATCHYD.& B.HAYES & T.DABERNIGC.WILLIAMS1111$4.802F1st MV 1000m 2YO SWP-1st Caul 1100m 2YO SWP-1st BD Prelude
2018WRITTEN BYG.BEGGJ.CHILDS215$5.50f2C1st Sand 1000m 2YO SWP-1st BD Prelude
2019LYREA.FREEDMANL.CURRIE75$7.502F5th VRC 1000m 2F SWP-1st Sale 1105m 2F Mdn-1st BD Prelude